GreenAcreBlues
Newly Registered

Container recieved as a birthday gift... What to put in it?

Hello to everyone! I hope this is in the right place...

My father got me a gorgeous asian pot with bamboo in it for my birthday a while back. The bamboo died... My sisters knocked it over repeatedly when I set it in a sunny spot in the living room, and I forgot to water it for long periods of time. Most of the sticks died and the weaved design just didn't look attractive with dead bamboo poles splattered about so I just threw it out entirely.

Well, now I am a bit more serious about plants, and I have this little asian style pot that is only 3 inches deep, about 14 inches long, and has no drainage holes at the bottom. (Though I do have some gravel leftover.)

I want to reuse it and keep it in the window in my room....

But since I am new to gardening I have no clue what could work in the container... I want something that will cheer up my room with a pleasant scent and eye appeal, and produce flowers. Being edible is a plus, since I am an aspiring chef and the rest of my plants are edible. I don't like growing things I can't eat. :lol:

The window doesn't stay too sunny for long, because we live in an area with many large trees around the homes, but it is lit fairly most of the day. I was thinking about dill. I have a fair amount of seeds put away from recently planting a small pot. ((It's just now sprouting, btw.)

Oh, and thanks! :)

Newt
Greener Thumb

Hi GreenAcreBlues,

Welcome to The Helpful Gardener. Sorry to say the dill won't do well in a pot that is only 3" deep. It grows to 12" tall and the flower spikes will get to about 3'.
https://www.tastefulgarden.com/Dill.htm