Mirrasi

Various general questions

1. Do some plants just die for no reason? This is my first year planting anything and some plants are doing awesome (spacemaster cucumber, bell peppers, finger carrots, and regular and cherry tomatoes) while other things have died (lettuces, some herbs, and blueberry). I can't really work out what went wrong on the dead ones. I followed all directions. The only possible thing I can think of is too much sun (Florida sun with zero shade). But even the blueberry (sunshine blue) was supposed to be good with lots of sun.

2. I bought some fish emulsion today but it was in one of those containers you connect to a hose. I'd rather put some in a watering can since I just have a few containers and don't want to hose down my patio with fish, lol. Any idea how much to put in the can and how often to use it? The directions don't say anything about watering cans. (Note: I did put some miracle grow plant food in the soil when I planted everything per the instructions of the lady at the nursery)

3. Since my blueberry bush didn't make it, is there anything else I can plant in that pot? It's 50/50 potting soil and peat moss so it's pretty acidic. The weather is very hot with a ton of sun.

4. Lastly, I am really liking this container gardening. What are some other plants (veggie, fruit, flower, leafy, etc) that would do well in full on sun in hot Florida weather?

Thanks!

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Mirrasi wrote:1. Do some plants just die for no reason? This is my first year planting anything and some plants are doing awesome (spacemaster cucumber, bell peppers, finger carrots, and regular and cherry tomatoes) while other things have died (lettuces, some herbs, and blueberry). I can't really work out what went wrong on the dead ones. I followed all directions. The only possible thing I can think of is too much sun (Florida sun with zero shade). But even the blueberry (sunshine blue) was supposed to be good with lots of sun.