citrusd85
Newly Registered

Converting fountain/pond into large garden container

I just moved into a new place with a quarter circle bricked in fountain/pond in the backyard. I'm converting the it into a garden, primarily for vegetables. Here is a picture: https://www.flickr.com/photos/16589820@N00/5322325473/

I've demolished the stone structure. The radius of the circle is about 6' and the depth inside is about 18". It currently has a single drain hole on the left corner, about 1/2" diameter, going out into the dirt next to it.

How do I begin? I think I should add some more drain holes with a masonry drill bit, but how many? How should I line the bottom and layer the soil and other fill?

Lastly, there is a copper pipe coming through the bottom that was used to fill the pond. I have access to the valve and it is functional. Any suggestions as to how to best use this to hook up a watering system? Just looking for good ideas. I'm new to gardening but my parents did it a lot when I was growing up - though no container gardening.

I'm in San Diego near the coast.

Thanks!
Curtis

Kisal
Mod Emeritus

Since the "container" was watertight, I think you would need several drainage holes ... maybe space the holes about every 6 inches all around the outside.

How deep is the "container"? Is there a cement bottom, as well? Depending on the depth, some plants might not be able to grow there. Also, what is the exposure to sunlight ... east, west, north, south ... and is there anything blocking the light, such as trees, walls, or other structures? Do you plan to remove the fence that's blocking the sun from the one side? :?:

As far as soil is concerned, I would recommend a high quality potting mix. With such limited drainage, anything else would retain too much water and rot the roots of anything you might plant ... regardless of how many drainage holes you might drill.