Arcadio

Recommendations for Window Box in Direct Sunlight?

I'm planning to plant some plants on a window box. I would like to get some recommendations as to which plants to get. This is the situation:

I live in New York City.
The container is about 24" by 6". It says its capacity is 15 quarts.
It will be set up outside one of my apartment windows, on the third floor.
The window box will receive direct sunlight for most of the day.
I'm new to this, so I would like plants that require little maintenance.
I'm looking for plants that look beautiful, colorful. Maybe one or two edible vegetable plants if possible.
I would like the plants to be perennial, unless there is a good reason for choosing annuals.

Oh, and I'm completely new to gardening, but I'm excited to start.

Kisal
Mod Emeritus

Your best bet would be annuals, because most perennials have fairly extensive root systems. You might be able to plant a few bulbs, but I don't know if you could just plant them and forget them. You might have to dig them up and replant them each year.

Your box is quite limited in space. Petunias or geraniums could grow well in the spot you have, but would need daily watering. I always consider petunias to be a one season plant, over and done with after the first good frost. But you can take cuttings from geraniums and winter them over, which gives you new plants to set out for the following year. It's not difficult to do. :)

I don't know about veggies that would work in a box of the dimensions you noted. Lettuce comes to mind, but I think it would bolt (go to seed) very quickly because of the heat. It becomes bitter once it bolts.

There are some herbs that might do well in your window box. Many herbs like warm, rather dry conditions. Basil, rosemary, thyme, and others might thrive there. Alas, they don't have particularly bright flowers.

There are plenty of other annual flowers that would work. Is there a particular color you might prefer? :)