LeahRiv
Newly Registered

Outdoor Plant Boxes

Hello wonderful gardeners!! I am new to gardening and just moved into a house that has plant boxes on the front. They do not presently have anything growing in them though... I would really like to plant something in them but have no idea what kind of plant would be condusive to the restrictions of growing in a box with very limited soil? The other catch to it is I have to hang out of a window on the second floor in order to reach the boxes so it would be best if they are not very high maintenance... does such a species of plant exsist?? Does anyone have any information for me?? Thanks for your time!! Cant wait to get some feedback!

Kilyo
Newly Registered

Hi Leah ^^

I found a great resource for containers and flower boxes from a book called "mcGee & Stuckey's: The Bountiful Container" By: Rose Marie Nichols McGee & Maggie Stuckey Under20$

It will give Tons of ideas about aesthetically pleasing as well As functional flower boxes... So you can enjoy it's bounty As well As its looks :D I <3 this book!

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Be glad to help, but in order to make suggestions we need to know what kind of sun exposure your window box gets. What direction does the window face? How many hours a day in the growing season is it in the sun? (Are there buildings that shade it, etc).

Plants that thrive in full sun are very different from ones for a shady spot.

LeahRiv
Newly Registered

Oh okay... my house faces mainly East and does not have anything that blocks it from the sun. There are no trees or buildings close enough to cast a shadow.

I would say that they get pretty high to maximum sun exposure in the growing season. At least from sunrise to midday... once the sun passes over the top of the house then they are no longer directly in the sun.

I hope that helps you help me :D

Thank you!

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb