bd

Help please: indoor hanging wandering jew

I have a wandering jew which hangs so that 1/2 is under a skylight in the bathroom. I just about killed it from underwatering, but I took out all the dead parts, re-rooted the good ones in water and replanted them.

It is growing very well now. The problem is, the plant is growing straight up instead of down the sides. Some of the stems are 9 inches tall already.
How can I make them grow downward like they were when I first bought the plant?

BTW I am a complete novice at this.

Kisal
Mod Emeritus

The stems will begin to drape over the sides of the container when they get long enough. I have one right now that I just started from some cuttings. The stems seem to begin to trail when they get to be about 10 or 11 inches long.

Could you post a picture of yours? It might help give us some ideas. You'll find instructions for posting pictures on the forums [url=https://www.helpfulgardener.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3724]here[/url].

bd

Thanks

Here is the photo. You can see a bit of the skylight overhead. The skylight is direcltly over one half of the plant.

[url=https://s600.photobucket.com/albums/tt86/bdk1234/?action=view&current=0624091233.jpg][img]https://i600.photobucket.com/albums/tt86/bdk1234/th_0624091233.jpg[/img][/url]

Kisal
Mod Emeritus

Because the light source is above your plant, the stems may grow a bit taller than the stems on mine, before they begin to trail over the side of the container. My plant is hanging beside a window, so the stems grow in that direction. I turn it daily, to keep it even.

I think your plant looks fine, myself. :)

mngrdngrl

This thread is perfect timing. I keep watching the WJ that I replanted this year in a mop bucket (ok it was supposed to be a joke but you know how that goes...) lean toward the sun and I keep having to turn it around everyday too. Good to know that those ltems will be turning downward in a good way pretty soon...

bd