lemoncait
Newly Registered

veggies in containers - problems

Hi!
Im Cait! Im new to the site- trying to find a good place to help me with my gardening- Google just isn't giving me the right answers! =)

This is my first time with my OWN garden (its container!)

Living at home I used to plant things at my moms house, and do all the watering and such, and it seemed like everything grew so great! When I was a senior in highschool I did my senior project on gardening and worked at a garden- and everything went great there too!!

BUT.......... This year I seem to be having quite a few problems!
1. No tomatos on two of my plants. Im worried I over fertilized. However 1 plant does have some.. hummm!!
2. No squash or flowers on the squash plants.. It might be too soon for that though... but tons of leaves... fertilizer?? I don't feel like I over-fertlized!! I used to ferty my tomatoes wayyy more then I do now and they grew so much we couldnt eat/pick them all! buttttt sadly not this year.
3. My strawberries are tiny! and green!
4. My peas got root rot I think, two of my plants have brownnn on them, Im wondering if they're save-able?!
=)
Cait

Kisal
Mod Emeritus

Welcome, Cait! It's nice to meet you. :)

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

welcome!

Welcome to the forum; hope you find it friendly and helpful.

I was just about to say the same thing Kisal did, that gardening in containers is a lot different (and trickier!) than gardening in the ground.

Over fertilizing is one of the things that can cause tomatoes not to flower. Is that what is happening, why you have no tomatoes? If the tomato is flowering, but not setting fruit (blossom drop) that's a different problem, but sometimes also is caused by over fertilizing.

You mentioned tomatoes, squash, strawberries, peas. Are they all in same container? If not how big are the containers? Could things be too crowded?

GardenerGirl