CodeOfHonor
Newly Registered

Suggestions for Good Container Plants?

I'm looking for a few good container plants for my region (southern Wisconsin). I can place them in full sun, full shade or half-half. I would prefer perennials but am willing to take anything. I have a big empty patio and need to put something on it!

Oh, and does anyone know if Shasta Daisies work well in pots? They are quite plentiful in my garden so transplanting them wouldn't be an issue.

pepper4
Green Thumb

Oh, and does anyone know if Shasta Daisies work well in pots? They are quite plentiful in my garden so transplanting them wouldn't be an issue.
I have planted Shasta daisies in containers many of times and they've done great :wink: I can't help you with what other plants to put in containers because I am still learning but I am sure you'll get some ideas and suggestions from this site :)[/quote]

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Given that it can be full sun to shade, there's a millon choices; if I limit it to relatively low maintenance native perennials, there's still at least hundreds. Give us some more criteria about what you would like: edible, fragrant, attractive to bees, butterflies, hummingbirds, what are your favorite colors, how big are your pots... then I can give you a reasonable list of suggestions. thanks

CodeOfHonor
Newly Registered

No need to be fragrant. Attractive to bees is okay, definitely for butterflies and hummingbirds. My Bee Balm never seems to attract anything but bees even though I was told it would bring 'round hummingbirds and butterflies. I prefer bright colors like reds, oranges and yellows. Something blue or purple might be nice. Interesting shaped blooms are fun too, much like the Bee Balm. My pots are the basic pots you can get anywhere, about bucket sized I would guess. Though I do have a few that are larger.

I once tried growing Foxglove in a pot and that didn't work. Shame as I think the blooms are pretty.

cynthia_h
Super Green Thumb