bonsaiboy
Greener Thumb

New to Orchid

I am new to orchid growing, and I have a question regarding a Phalaenosis orchid. The problem with it is seems to be that the leafs are becoming soft, turing from light green to yellow, then falling of. I was wondering what could cause this? I know over watering of plants can cause leaf yellowing, but I am using medium grade orchid bark, and I only water it when the first upper half of the bark goes dry. However, I understand that bark seems to dry very unevenly, so the upper part may be bone dry where as the bottom may still be soaking wet. I have seen orchid pots with holes on the side, I'm guessing to help the bark dry out more evenly. So, would it be worth purchasing one of these pots or not? I have also read that when watering an orchid to use distilled water. But I water my other plants using regular water, and nothing ever happens to them, so I figured I could do the same to the orchid. Is this a bad idea? Also, I keep it in a north facing window. I've read Phalaenopsis orchids like the light to be anywhere from 700-1000 footcandles, but some can tolerate 200. So could this dying of leafs be acounted for by it either dropping leafs designed to work in higher light levels (and will soon produce better leafs for the new enviornment?) or is the low light just slowly going to kill it?

The Helpful Gardener
Mod

Remeber where Phalaenopsis grows in the wild; in the crooks and branches of trees. Not a lot of spare water there, and roots tend to be air exposed much of the time. A Chinese orchid pot (with carved open sides allowing air flow) might be a good idea, as I suspect you have identified your own issue, water. And if you have city water, yellowing can be a function of water chemistry; we don't call it chlorosis for nothing...light should be indirect but fairly bright; think gauze curtains...

HG

lahondaknitter
Newly Registered