scienceguy288
Newly Registered

Dorm Garden

Hi all,

I am a college student and want to plant a windowsill vegetable garden in my dorm room. Spring is just around the corner, so I figure this is a good time. I don't have much room to work with and I have never done this before, so I need some help. First, what are the minimal supplies I will need?

Second, what kind of plants should I start with? They should be pretty easy to grow (beginner), don't require much space (dorm) or light (kind of in a dark spot).

Thanks for all the help in advance.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

wow, you don't want much! " They should be pretty easy to grow (beginner), don't require much space (dorm) or light (kind of in a dark spot). " There's not much in the way of vegetables that's going to grow in your dark spot. You either need to think about shade plants (eg tropical house plants, ferns) or you need to add some light. If you can hang a shop light with a couple of fluorescent bulbs over your windowsill to add to the natural light coming in, you might be able to try some veggies. You'd do best in small space and not a lot of light to grow yourself some nice fresh salad greens. Get a packet of mixed lettuce seeds and some spinach and swiss chard, green onions or chives. Plant them in little plastic pots set in trays (you can get long narrow window-sill shaped trays) in potting soil and water from the bottom. Plant them thickly and then eat the thinnings-- you will start having little baby leaves in just a few weeks! The others give out in the summer but the swiss chard and onions will keep going all season. Beets also do pretty well without full sun and you can eat the tops for greens also. Enjoy!

scienceguy288
Newly Registered

Thanks for the help. I just wanted to clarify on the light issue.
I get quite a bit of sunlight the morning, but the sun dips behind my building towards late afternoon. I suppose then my light supply would be considered "average."

applestar
Mod