Starlurk
Newly Registered

I'm such a newbie ~_~ Just some questions

I'm in Kentucky and I have some questions to ask.

I would like to start container gardening on my front porch. The sun rises facing this direction.

I guess my questions are: When should I start? I'm new to Kentucky and I know nothing about the weather patterns, when winter ends around here and when spring begins.

I don't know much about plants anymore, I haven't had a garden since I was a little girl. So my second question is, what flowers in this region are good for newbies and when should I start planting?

Um.. I think that's all for now. I didn't want to ask these sorts of questions at Lowes where they would push all sorts of stuff on me ~_~ I already have two containers waiting outside to be filled with goodness. <3

hendi_alex
Super Green Thumb

I assume you are in zone seven or zone eight, but you need to check. In any event, morning sun is best for container plantings as the afternoon sun is pretty rough on plants, especially those in containers. One plant that I would recommend is a peony. Ours was planted several years ago and does very well, even blooming most years. Zone eight is a bit on the warm side for reliable blooming of peonies which like colder winter temperatures. But even when the plant doesn't bloom, the foilage is wonderful.

As far as specific recommendations. You need to consider your space and the sized containers and plants that it can accomodate. A few strawberry plants might be fun. Small growing zinnas and annual dwarf dahlias make great centerpieces for container plantings. Each year my wife and I visit a couple of local nurseries and buy a variety of tall, medium height, and low height plants to put together as arrangements in various containers. Going to the local farmers market could be more fun and rewarding that going to Lowes. Also at the farmers market, more individuals will actually have good knowledge about the plants that they sell.