koonaone
Location: Lillooet - HighBar - Cariboo, BC - Bioregions of Corrdilera

Advice Re: Feeding and Pruning Amelanchier (Saskatoon)

I have 5 1/2 juneberry bushes (Chakm here) in my yard.

Does anyone have tips on fertilization and pruning them.

I have already wacked the tops to about 15 feet and barbered them up but I have no experience. The deer browseline them to about 6 feet.

They are my only tree fruit, any suggestions of others for a place with deep cold winters on occasions, but decent growing season?

douglas

Hah! Peak oil? Try Peak water, and Peak Land at the same time. Overgrazed is more like it.
https://www.alternet.org/water/93170/?page=entire

MaineDesigner
Green Thumb

Do you know what species of amelanchiers you are growing?
Please tell me more about your climate and maybe I can come up with some suggestions for other fruit trees or shrubs.

I'm a little concerned about your comment re: "...wacked the tops" as topping woody plants is rarely a good strategy. I'm aware that the commercial orcharding industry commonly makes drop crotch cuts on trees to control height but they are also usually viewing their trees as a disposable commodity with a maximum productive life of thirty years, sometimes much less. If you look at the late Dr. Alex Shigo's work you'll see that trees generally can't effectively compartmentalize cuts to the terminal leader.

Precision pruning is part of what I do for a living although my work is primarily with ornamental species I do some pruning of pears and apples, usually rehabilitative pruning of older, neglected trees. With fruit trees I try to strike a balance between productivity and aesthetics and long-term tree health.

Solveig
Cool Member

In my earlier garden I also had a Saskatoon, Amelanchier alnifolia, but I don´t know exactly what variety of Saskatoon it was. Anyway, it was an easy and nice plant with tasty berries. The only difficulty was to be quicker than the birds when the berries were ripe.

koonaone