Sixshot
Newly Registered

Newbie here! Question about a nectarine tree.

Hi there,
I am a total newbie who's getting into gardening and I live in a desert area. I bought a plum and nectarine tree from my local garden center (I was told they'll grow fine out here) and I planted them. The plum tree seems to be doing great, but the nectarine tree looks like it's dying. It had a lot of leaves on it when I got it, and now they're all shriveled up.

I have been trying to water them in the early morning or the evenings, when it's cooler. I read not to water them too much so I'm just watering them once a day. The nectarine tree still is green on the inside, although some of the branch tips are turning brown and look dead. They almost look kind of burned... I planted both trees in a place that gets full sun because that's where I was told they needed to be. Since it's the desert, is it maybe too much sun? Anyway I really want the tree to survive, so is there anything I can do to help it?

Thank you!
Martin

TheLorax
Greener Thumb

Hello and a warm welcome to you.

Are you in a position to share with me what county and state you are in?

Also too, would you check your tags and share with me which plum and which nectarine you were sold please.

Sixshot
Newly Registered

Hello! I'm near the city of Palmdale, California (a couple of miles east). It's in Los Angeles county. The trees are a Semi-Dwarf Santa Rosa Plum, and a Goldmine Semi-Dwarf nectarine.

TheLorax
Greener Thumb

Rats, lost my post by screwing around and ending up logged out! I hate that when that happens but here goes again-

OK, you're in the high desert. Mojave, right?