permanewbie
Newly Registered

How do I correct a poorly formed peach tree?

Close-up of trunk below the scaffolds
Close-up of trunk below the scaffolds
D70960A4-EF90-44CC-9B13-92B1C16E42C2.jpeg
FF4DD984-BE24-47A9-BCDB-8D7B87622AF4.jpeg
Hello everybody!
I am completely new to this subject. I've researched, but haven't found information specific to my problem, so I hope someone hereabouts can help me. I was given a young (2-3 years old I guess) poorly pruned peach tree (pictures attached) in a 2 gallon pot. From what I saw, the roots don't seem to be very well developed (far from being root-bound). I planted it with a mixture of the sandy soil it came in, some store-bought garden soil, and some natural fertilizer. It's about 10 feet tall, and 12-18 inches above the ground - where I'm thinking of pruning below the two, narrowly crotched scaffolding branches - the trunk is one inch in diameter. From what I've read and seen, I need to chop it back to a stub to create 3-4 new, better angled scaffolds. My questions are: should I in fact do this, is it ok to do it now in the middle of May, and how risky is it? I’ll appreciate any other advice, too. I am in Ankara, Turkey, which I'm told has a climate similar to Denver. Thanks in advance for your help!

applestar
Mod

Welcome to the forum :D

Just a couple of quick comments for now but will come back later —

- concerned about apparent bark injury just below the fork — looks like it had been roughly handled — maybe carried around by that part of trunk while potted.

- don’t cut below the fork branches if that’s what you said - no guarantee of viable buds

- the tree needs to be tipped — need to study existing upper branches to determine where to cut