SQWIB
Greener Thumb

Espalier Pear tree Help Needed

I'm a the final height I want my pear tree to be.

In my left hand is the main branch, to the right are two branches, should I cut off the lowest branch and train the main stem to the left and the side branch to the right?
Or should I let it get a little higher then cut the main branch and promote two new branches closer to the wire

2nd question

Should I remove this branch and keep the smaller one (yellow arrow) that is closer to the 2nd tier, I grew both out because I was afraid the smaller one wasn't going to make it.

applestar
Mod

As you know I’m a very beginner and have not been pruning mine strictly. But by my methods, I would cut off the two bottom branches because they are too low to the ground and then the one you marked with white arrow and asked “remove?”

I would then keep the yellow arrow one as opposite partner to the other one and train them to the wire — you now have two side ways branches and a leader. When that leader grows 1 foot to 18 inches, prune and force another set of side branches — one first then a second strong side going the opposite way. At that point, you can decide to top the tree and have 4 side scaffolds or go ahead and grow out a leader for another pair above them.

SQWIB
Greener Thumb

I'm not totally clear, does this look right, if so, when I cut the two lowest branches I wont have any branches for the bottom leader.

As for the 2nd part, let the main stem grow a bit more then cut at the 3rd level?
Should I remove the side branches now?

applestar
Mod

So, I assume you are trying to style your pear espalier in the typical shape which is top-right
*Yvonne CuthberTson*
*Yvonne CuthberTson*