gardenlove

Rasberry plant not producing

HI my name is Megan and I'm a newbie at this whole thing... I have this Rasberry plant that I purchased two years ago. It was already growing when I purchased. I have yet to have any rasberries though and I'm getting really bummed about it. Any suggestions on what I can do??? FYI I live in CT THANKS :D

opabinia51
Super Green Thumb

Do you prune back the old canes each fall? And try using a good compost to fertilize it.

And take a look at this thread:

https://www.helpfulgardener.com/forum/posting.php?mode=reply&t=7142

gardenlove

well I have been reading about it and I don't think I'm cutting them back far enough. In the fall I cut back all the runners but I don't cut down the main root. I have heard the term "Mowing" alot all of a sudden and I'm just wondering if it means what I think it meanswhich is cutting it down to ground??? :?:

opabinia51
Super Green Thumb

If I understand you correctly, I think what you are doing is cutting back the new runners? That is what gives you the new fruit. What you want to do is cut back the old canes and let the new runners come up. They will give you fruit for the next year.

And definately do not take the roots out. They provide your plant with nurients that it needs to grow and produce fruit.

gardenlove

okay maybe then I'm using the wrong term then becasue what I'm talking about are these branches that come off the main root and grow like crazy. I have never seen any new branches that come up form the ground?? sorry of I'm being confusing :oops:

opabinia51
Super Green Thumb

Alright just to see if we can figure this out together (and don't worry, sometimes getting things straight is tough, I've been there.) Does your plant have woody canes on it now?

If so, read on. If not just say no and we'll go from there.