MaggieMD

when to plant blueberries?

The nursery was supposed to mail the plants around the correct time for planting, but they sent my blueberry seedlings and it's only late February. Surely this is too early to plant them, even in Southern Maryland? When should I plant them, and how do I keep them alive until then? They are sad little sticks right now, with some green in them. Also, I have read the numerous posts about acidity in soil -- there has been discussion of peat moss, coffee grounds and citrus peel and maybe sulphate? Also, what about Holly Tone? We used to use it for azaleas with success. This is my first attempt at Blueberries, so I have no existing plot yet. Thanks all. Sorry to ask so many questions! - Maggie

opabinia51
Super Green Thumb

You can leave your plants in the garage for now but, invest in a grow light just to be sure they don't die from lack of light. You can buy an inexpensive incandescant bulb with a little appratus that plugs into the wall and clamps on to just about anything from Home Depot.

Plant them after the last frost, and I'm assuming that you bought a few different cultivars? Blueberries produce better when they have different cultivars planted togther.

For the acidity, yes blueberries are acidophiles; any of the above methods will work. Though if you use a sulphate..... well if you use a sulphate with a metal ion like Mg, Na or some other metal you will be increasing the pH of your soil not decreasing it. So, if you really want to us a direct acid application use something other than sulphate as dihydrogen monosulphate is commonly known as sulpheric acid and not suitable for home use let a lone in the garden.

I'd personally recommend that you use one of the other methods because if you add a solid acid directly to the soil, you will kill the natural flora and fauna in the soil which fight against disease.