lkjts
Newly Registered

Help pruning this young apricot tree [pics inside]

Hello my dear fellow gardeners!

Last year I bought an estate with quite an amount of unattended fruit trees. RIght after that, I packed tonnes of literature to learn fruit gardening. Pruning was my most feared topic :lol: This month I started pruning my trees, and although I am new at this, I managed to prune some older apple trees very well I think.

However, I am having problems deciding how to prune this particular apricot tree. Last spring it was quite small, and it seem it grew significantly since, almost double in height. Take a look at the pic:

To me, branches look overgrown in height. Also, their angle is too steep. As you see, it almost started to bloom and now is probably the last opportunity to prune it. My problem is, I am not sure how to do it, because of all this straight growth. I cannot just cut those tall branches in half, can I? Also, it seems to me this could be the first year for this tree to bear fruit! I really don't want to mess it up! :oops:

It would be great if someone could advise me here, or even better draw a few lines on my pic, and thus guide me where to make the cuts!

Thanks folks!

JONA
Greener Thumb

Hi Ikjts
No...don't cut anything!
There is nothing wrong with your tree except it needs telling were you want it to grow.
There is one upright that looks more dominant than the rest. Choose this one as the leader of your tree and work on the other branches around it.
Tie the branches around it down carefully with string and weighted bags to as low an angle as you can ....50-60 degrees would be perfect...without causing the branches to crack or break. You'll be surprised how supple they are.
This will help those branches to develope as the main cropping branches as well as giving you control over the trees growth.