Nich
Newly Registered

Two Avocado Plants in Distress

Hello there. I'm new to growing avacados and need some help. I've grown two small avocado plants, each about 15 inches in heigh currently. About a month ago I recently transferred both plants into larger pots as I felt they were outgrowing their small pots. Also note that they were both on my kitchen window ledge and have now been put on a table in the living room that does get light but not nearly as much and is also next to a vent.

Plant #1 is significantly older than plant #2. Quite some time ago the new leaves that would sprout from the top stopped coming. Not sure why or if there is a way to stimulate growth. However, that is a secondary issue at this point since the top 3 leaves are now all quickly turning brown as you'll see in the attached pictures. These leaves are firm but all browning towards the back side. I've also noticed that the stems of the leaves are much lighter in color (a shade of yellow) compared to that of plant #2.

Plant #2 is younger but taller. The lowest hanging leaf is turning brown from the bottom up. The rest of the leaves are drooping and appear wilted. When I transferred it to the larger pot I initially planted it too close to the top so I had to take it out and place it deeper in the pot. I was gentle in the process but am concerned maybe the plant has gone into shock or that I hurt the root system.

I try to only water them both when the soil is dry to the touch. I've noticed for some reason the soil in the pot for plant #1 always appears darker than that of the other plant.

Any ideas suggestions or tips?

Thank you so much for your help.
Attachments
Plant #1's soil (much darker in color)
Plant #1's soil (much darker in color)
Plant #2's soil (lighter in color)
Plant #2's soil (lighter in color)
Plant #2's brown leaf on the bottom
Plant #2's brown leaf on the bottom
Plant #2 aka Droopy Leaves
Plant #2 aka Droopy Leaves
Plant #1's brown leaves
Plant #1's brown leaves