DrWarnerIPresume

Started lemon from seeds

I just started growing a lemon from seeds that I got from a lemon and Rey seem to be doing great. I know it can be a long road before any fruit if any but being that and the fact I don't have a "green thumb" and new the growing any fruit bearing trees any help? Advice? I threw some seeds in a pot after cleaning them and they now look like this.....I want to give them all different pots.
Attachments
image.jpg

AnnaIkona
Greener Thumb

Looks awesome! Make sure that one the plant is taller than 5 inches, the amount of soil is more than 5 inches. Otherwise the plants will grow slower than usual.
I also noticed that they do extremely well in most soil.
Attachments
20151124_194437.jpg

AnnaIkona
Greener Thumb

Sorry, I ment *moist* soil.

DrWarnerIPresume

Thanks for the advice. I'll wait for now until they're a bit bigger. Yours look great. What soil should I use? I'm new to gardening all together.

AnnaIkona
Greener Thumb

Actually lemon seeds are pretty hardy, so any soil would work fine. I used half sandy soil (from outdoor garden beds), and half potting soil (or was it top soil :oops: ) And I also give my lemon plants LOTS of sunlight, as they are on my windowsill, and get about 5 hours of direct sunlight each day.

I'm new to gardening myself, but I've been growing trees from the fruit I eat for a long time. It's a fun and rewarding experience!

DrWarnerIPresume

That's great! In my window mine are getting between 6-9. What's the ideal for them? I'm very excited I'm probably going to end up buying something already started (like a small orange) that way I can enjoy sooner. Know any others that do well indoors?

imafan26
Mod