EmmaAndBobby93
Newly Registered

Strawberry Leaves Turning Brown

Novice gardener here! I planted a few strawberry starts about two weeks ago, and all of their leaves end up turning brown and crunchy from the outside in. When the current leaves have browned, a new green one sprouts up, but then once it gets larger that one will start to brown too. This has happened on each plant at least three times. My soil is pretty heavy clay, but I tried to amend it with some steer manure before I planted the strawberries. Also I live in the Central Valley in CA (Zone 8 ) so it gets really hot. I'm just trying to figure out whether this is due to transplant shock, poor drainage, not enough water, soil chemical imbalance, or some disease. Again, I'm a beginner and trying to learn as I go but this is giving me trouble as its my third attempt at planting strawberries. I have tomatoes and peppers in the garden too that are thriving if that helps rule out any of the possibilities.

Thanks a bunch in advance!

JONA
Greener Thumb

I would guess that it is transplant shock as the roots battle to establish the plant in very hot weather. If it persists through the summer try re-planting in the fall when the heat is much lower and the plant has a chance to fully establish itself before the winter sets in. Then it should have a good root system ready for the following spring.

applestar
Mod

Make sure you didn't bury them too deep. In your climate, the central crown (the corky part where the leaves and roots radiate out of) should be very high and dry (clay+manure would be very dense too) so where the roots come out of it should be barely below the soil surface. You could surround the crown with sand to help keep it dry.

Raised bed might have been better. You could simulate it by digging a moat and then channeling away so the moat doesn't hold water. A heavy mulch to keep the soil cool would probably help, too.