applestar
Mod

Growing Alpine Strawberries from Seeds

My Alpine strawberries sprouted! :-()

Now that they have shown themselves to be alive and well, I wanted to document the process until they are planted out. Crossing fingers nothing dire happens to them :bouncey:

-- this is my first time *intentionally* growing strawberries from seeds, so any tips and advice would be greatly appreciated. :D

I sowed two varieties -- Yellow Wonder and White Soul -- in a thoroughly dampened gritty mix of DE (UltraSorb), coir, and Espoma organic potting mix... put the container in a polyethylene produce bag, and put it out in the unheated garage for two weeks to cold stratefy as instructed on the seed packet. Then brought the container inside, bottom watered thoroughly, and placed it, still covered, over the heating mat so the temperature would be around low to mid 70's during the day and fall to mid to upper 60's during the night. I misted the top a couple of times when condensation failed to form on the inside surface of the plastic bag.

I discovered the seedlings had sprouted this evening :()
image.jpg
image.jpg (86.53 KiB) Viewed 15052 times
I've positioned risers over the heating mat so the top of the container is close to the T-5 tubes and the seedlings will get plenty of light. This would also remove the container from the heat mat and lower the temperature a little bit, so if it seems like they NEED the extra warmth, I'll move the container up to the 2nd shelf.

applestar
Mod

I was going to take another picture this morning, but there really isn't any change. I was told Alpine strawberries are very slow to grow -- they are definitely not like the tomato seedlings!

jbockenfeld

They look good. Mine were slow but I only have 1 left now. I credit it to the crappy light and I turned the thermostat down to 70 making it dip lower and the next day only one was not withered.

applestar
Mod

It's SO disappointing when they sprout but fail to thrive. :(