harpanddulc
Newly Registered

How to Prevent Worms Larvae in Strawberries?

I have had a terrible problem with my strawberry patch this year. I am told that it is caused by a certain fly which lays eggs on/in the berry. I pick a beautiful berry and out climbs a little white worm (larvae). I had a bumper crop of berries this year, but they are virtually inedible. Is there something I can do to the soil at the end of this summer to prevent this from reoccurring next summer? Also, I am quite new to raising strawberries. Do I cut back the plants at the end of the season or just let the winter do it for me?

JONA878
Greener Thumb

Hiharpanddulc.
It may be that you are suffering from this pest that we have just started to see this side of the pond. It appears to be in the States already.
Growers of soft fruits like strawberries, raspberries, blackberries and blueberries are being warned the pest is probably already attacking crops here. The spotted wing vinegar fly is just 2-3mm long but can also pose a threat to harder fruit like apples and pears. The tiny Asian fruit fly - the spotted wing vinegar fly known as drosophila suzukii - devastates soft fruit crops. It has been found in Kent.The tiny Asian fruit fly - the spotted wing vinegar fly known as drosophila suzukii - devastates soft fruit crops. The particularly nasty pest wrecked £300 million worth of crops in California alone the first year it was discovered there.
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/ ... ustry.html

webmaster
Site Admin

Which state are you in? If it's OFF you may need to call a local Food and Agriculture Department official to report it so they can identify what you have and if necessary use a non-pesticide solution such as MAT (Male Attractant Technique), which involves releasing sterile males of the species into the affected area, effectively causing extinction within two life cycles.