JessPlacerville
Newly Registered

Scale Treatment on Plum/Apple tree's?

Hello everyone, this is my first post here so I'll give you a quick bit of history.

We bought this property in Placerville, California about 8 years ago. On one of the hills is a small orchard with 2 Damson (I believe) plum trees, 2 wild plum trees a very tiny pear and two apple tree's. I'm very new to gardening and especially fruit tree care and it wasn't until recently that I decided to start looking after them as that hillside has grown a little wild.

Anyway, I just discovered I have a pretty serious scale infestation. All of my plums have it and at least one of the apples has it. I've been doing as much research as I can but I'm to the point where a little direction could help.

Based on my research I believe I have Kuno scale (Eulecanium kunoense)? I've read about the various treatments but the one thing I can't figure out is what to do if my tree's have fruit. None of the fruit is ripe yet so I'm worried if I spray my tree's if I'll hurt the fruit. Do I need to wait until winter to treat it?

Any help would be great, thanks!

Jess
IMG_20140720_123207.jpg

tomc
Super Green Thumb

Re: Scale Treatment on Plum/Apple tree's?

For scale, I'd mix up some dormant oil. Use the directions on the lime sulphur bottle, or research one you prefer from the web. It gets applied early in the spring before bud-break.

You won't be able to spray till early next spring before leaf buds open and before bloom.

Oil and something mildy caustic will asphyxiate the scale.
Think like a tree
© 2016 Invisable Inc.

ReptileAddiction
Greener Thumb

I agree. Wait until the trees are dormant and spray them with a dormant oil.

You also need to make sure that you keep the ground underneath the trees clear of any debris. Especially fallen leaves make excellent overwintering spots for insects.

JessPlacerville
Newly Registered

Thanks for the replies!