spark73
Newly Registered

caring for fruit trees in the winter

Hello,

we purchased a home in October that has a persimmon and fig tree in the backyard and have enjoyed a good bit of fruit! I am a gardening noob and did a bit of research but wanted to get some specific help.

The fig tree is maybe 12'-15' high. All the leaves have fallen off.

The persimmon tree is also 12'-15' high. All the leaves have fallen off. It has astringent fruit. They're shaped like hearts, as opposed to the "squashed pumpkin" variety.

We have two Meyer lemon trees, one is about 6' high, the other looks like a new planting around 3 feet high.

We live in northern California, Santa Rosa to be precise. Today it got to around 30 degrees in the morning, and I'm sure it'll get colder. We are in zone 14, I believe.

Are there any specific things we need to do to ensure the trees survive so we can get more fruit next year? Do we water them during the winter? Insulate them with clippings? Do we need to worry about insects/animals during this time? Most of the things I'm reading say stuff like, "Bring them into the garage" ... well, these are fully planted trees and aren't going anywhere anytime soon!

Thanks!

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Lucky you, inheriting full sized fruit trees! Zone 14 would be in the Sunset Western Garden system, which is much more useful to western gardeners. Just for ease in translation for us non-western folks, you would be in zone 9b in the USDA system.

I don't know all that much about fruit trees, never having grown any, but I'm thinking there's not much you can do for a 12' tree, except you are right, DO mulch heavily all around the base of the tree out to the drip line. Be sure you leave a few inches between the tree trunk and the mulch, so no mulch can touch the trunk.