PunkRotten
Greener Thumb

Cape Gooseberry questions

Hi,

I got a hold of some cape gooseberry seeds and anxious to try them. Has anyone grown them? What could you tell me about them? I want to grow one in a pot and one in the ground. What kind of soil, pot size, hours of sun etc does it need? How big does the plant get? Could I start it now in zone 9? In my zone would it be a perennial? thanks

!potatoes!
Greener Thumb

aka poha, aka goldenberry...I've grown a few things in the same genus, but this is my first year growing these...my understanding is that this is one of those things that 'thrives on neglect' (I would bet that's less so in a pot - use as big as is reasonable)...relatively full sun, don't need much water, produce relatively well without a whole lot of soil fertility (but probably more with it)...I transplanted mine out in late april, and as of yet, no ripe fruit (getting close on some, but taking its time)...looooong season. if you get any freezing temps ever, I doubt this would survive it without protection, but with protection it could well be perennial. I think they get a couple feet tall/wide, but mine...few are more than 16 or so inches tall.

I'm just hoping I get enough to save seed from at this point.

have you grown ground cherries? very similar fruit, on a very self-sowing annual. with perhaps less needs. a favorite of mine.

PunkRotten
Greener Thumb

No first time growing something like this. Wanted to try something different. Regular lowest temps here get into the 40s, very rarely into the 30s. I was thinking it might be better to plant it in the ground right into my clay soil because I had heard too the poorer the soil the better. That means you get more fruits rather than leaf production. I was thinking about starting a plant now and maybe by spring get fruits.

!potatoes!
Greener Thumb

worth a try. go for it.

CharlieBear
Green Thumb