Aya

Blueberry Maturation Question

This is my first year trying to grow Blueberries. (I'm in the Seattle area). I bought a bare root plant and put it in a 15 or 20 gallon container. It has a bunch of new growth and cute little leaves. I've read that they don't produce fruit the first year, but when can I expect it to produce fruit? It is a thorn less self pollinating variety if that helps..

applestar
Mod

Your saying "thornless" is giving me a pause... blueberries don't have thorns. Do you mean BLACKberry?

Aya

I mean blueberry. I think I was reading my blackberry tag that my puppy so thoughtfully left in my blueberry container. Lol - I'll be sure and double check the plant next time :roll:

nickiadkins
Newly Registered

Most fruiting bushes or trees take at least 3 years to fruit. Blueberry's are one of the pickiest bushes in my garden. They like the soil acidic. I bought 5 gallon containers of developed blueberry bushes and still took a couple of years to take off. I still would advise buying 2 bushes. Most fruit trees will have better fruit with more than one variety. I will be taking some pics of my blueberry's soon on my website blog. Fyi: you may want to label it to help you remember what variety you have. :)

hendi_alex
Super Green Thumb