WinglessAngel
Green Thumb

Minimum temps strawberry plants can take??

I may be asking this q again, not sure, I looked and couldnt find my answer on here or on google....

what are the minimum temps the plants can take? 40's 50's? I know if u place straw and such around the plants they can take 30's for a short period, but we only have 6 plants in big ol'd pots and its my first time growing them, my fiance wanted to grow them, I know nothing about the temp's that they need and oh they are junebearing honeoye's.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Are you talking about newly planted?

Established strawberry plants are very cold hardy and over winter just fine. For me they are practically ever green, keeping their green leaves much of the winter. Most strawberry plants are rated hardy to zone 4, which means they tolerate temps down at least to minus 20 degrees!

However if you have a new plant, just come from the nursery, that isn't established yet, I wouldn't want to challenge it like that. But if you are having temps in the high 30's or above, they should be fine.

JONA878
Greener Thumb

I would add a couple of things as well.
The use of straw on strawberries can be used in two ways,
If you are in and area that has very late spring frosts then you can ' Deep Straw ' the plants to protect the forming flowers. Here the straw must completely covor the plants for several inches to form an insolation to the flowers.
This is then uncovored daily and used when frost is forcast.

The traditional ' strawing up ' of the plants is to just keep the developing fruits from getting spoiled on the ground and also to act as some deterent to slugs and snails etc.
However...if you are doing this lighter strawing you must be sure that all spring frosts have passed.
If you do not then the straw itself will act as an insolator over the soil and stop its residual warmth from protecting the flowers on cold nights.
Result...blackened flower eyes.

WinglessAngel
Green Thumb