Susy

Planted strawberries near tomatoes and peppers.

Ok so I'm a newbie. I planted my everbearing strawberries between peppers and tomatoes. Never crossed my mind that that could be a problem. What should I do? Which plant(s) should I move, and when should I do it? It would probably be easiest to move the strawberry plant, but would the soil already be "contaminated"? Help!

JONA878
Greener Thumb

Hi Susy.
What is the great problem with your plantings?
Are the toms and pappers smothering your strawberry plants?
If that is the case then I guess that you will have problems with the strawberries being able to get enough light to ripen properly,
So you have to decide whether to leave them there for this year or transplant them to a new site.
I don't understand you word ' contaminated ' in this context. Contaminated in what way?
All these palnts can grow in close proximity to each other. It's just a question of giving them enough room for light and air movement.
As to moving them while in the growing season. if you have to move anything then I would suggest the strawberry plants.
The others would not transplant at all well in their growing period, and would need a much bigger root ball in the moving than the strawberry would.
On the other hand if you can be patient then I would leave the move until the end of the season and then the problem would not be there. Even though this may mean that you lose some fruit on the strawberries.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Agree with JONA. Also it sounds like you just planted the strawberries (and everything) this year. We don't expect to get strawberries the first year you plant the plant. It is usually advised to pluck the blossoms off of first year strawberry plants, so the plant can focus on establishing a good root system.