Cerbiesmom

New fruit trees!

I went to Houston Garden Center yesterday, and everything was half off, so I came home with a papaya, loquat, and thornless blackberry plant, and got out of there for less than 20 bucks! It was very exciting. I'm planning on a fruiting edible forest in my front yard. I already have a fig out there.

cynthia_h
Super Green Thumb

Loquat jam...sounds like a winner to me!

I can't imagine thornLESS blackberries, but am willing to try! Many scratches every year, both from picking 'em, cutting 'em back, and pruning 'em in December/January. :x But they are SOOOO good.

Fig--definitely a winner! And incredible fig/lemon jam waiting to be made.

I've never had papaya that tasted/felt good to me; prevailing theory is that my tongue doesn't want to be tenderized *that* much. :lol:

Cynthia H.
Sunset Zone 17, USDA Zone 9

Ozark Lady
Greener Thumb

I hope they are labelled correctly.

I have been raising an apricot tree for 3-4 years. It finally set fruit.
Wait a minute, the fruit are small and abundant, and ripening to red?
Where is the fuzz, apricots have some, don't they?
I opened one up, took a bite, not quite ripe, but not an apricot, I dug the pit out and looked... definitely... plum, not apricot.

So, I just gained a plum tree today. That is great, I like plums better anyhow, just a surprise.

applestar
Mod

Ooh! You can raise papaya trees in your front yard?
I planted seeds from a papaya I ate one time. I planted a flat-full because I happened to have those 6 packs and the tray from setting out bedding plants. I figured I needed back up in case they didn't sprout.... :shock: They ALL sprouted.