misti
Newly Registered

cherry or plum tree?

I am new to gardening and I would like a cherry or plum tree?
Which is better?
I bought my home last year and I need to work on the outside now....
Are the fruit trees really messy?
Do they need sprayed or does anyone knwo the maintenence for them?Should I buy a dwarf or mature/regular sized? What is the diff? :?
I know birds love cherries so I guess I wont have to buy seeds :lol:
how big do they get?
Is it ok to order from a catalouge or should I got to the store?
Any info will help
thanks in advance :)

applestar
Mod

I'm assuming you're asking because you're equally fond of cherries and plums. I only just planted my two sweet cherry trees last fall and I have a couple of plum trees. But I'll share what I know.... :wink:

First of all, you get better price and SELECTION on fruit trees if you plan on planting them bare root while they are dormant -- that's to say -- you place your order and they ship to you very early in Spring (in early March in zone 6b) or late Autumn (I think early November). You do want to order early because they might run out or only have mediocre ones left (I think that's when they put them up for sale :roll: ) I've purchased from Stark Bros and Miller Nurseries but there are others excellent nurseries as well. If you buy potted trees, they can generally be planted later in the Spring before the hot/dry season and earlier in the Fall (My purchases from Edible Landscaping -- another good source -- came mid Sept.) My criteria for choosing mail order/on-line source is a nursery that is relatively close to my geographical location as well as climate. Remember that your plant will be wrapped up and in transit for a number of days, as much as a week or more. I like to keep shipping stress to a week at most.