CherA

Are there any Japanese vines in white, fast growing?

Hi,
I wonder if there are any vines of Japanese vareity? If there aer I iagine they woudl be gorgeous and I am brand new to this except I fel lin love with the Japanese Gardens in San Francisco when I visited there in the 70's. I didn't want to leave, just stay forever.
I do not recall any vines however.
I have chain link fencing on one property line and then in front of that is a bulb bed that I take photos of. Often I can't take photos as the vines because the chain link shows thru and I do not know how to use Photoshop yet.
So it must be a fast grower and able to reach six feet high or so. The fencing is very long between maybe 90-100 feet or less, I don;t know for sure.
At any rate I planted some sweet peas there and only two of 7 grew.
I am looking for something like clematis with large flowers that is a perennial that will grow on either the chain link or the bamboo fencing..perferably white flowers but pastels are nice in cool tones like lilac or pink or so. If you know of anything would apprecaite a URL or link to a source of info. Thanks guys, Cher I think if anyone will know this Yama will.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

I think the point of a Japanese garden, is not that the plants originated in Japan at some point, but that it follows certain principles of aesthetic design including being simple and spare, with a lot of empty space, following naturalistic design (eg no straight rows of things), and making the garden look like it belongs there and has been there forever. Helpful Gardener has a good article on it here:

https://www.helpfulgardener.com/japanese/

If you like the clematis, why not use that?

There is a white flowering Japanese Hydrangea vine, some varieties with variegated leaves. It's a perennial, so probably wouldn't be real fast growing the first year (neither will the clematis).