awqrn
Newly Registered

Japanese Maple Leaves turning white and dry! HELP!

HI,

I'm new to th forum and looking for some help.

I just bought some Japanese Maple trees. They are still in pots. All three about 3 feet tall. One is a crimson lace leaf and the others I don't know of the names, but they did have red leaves on them. Anyhow, we just went through a dry heat spell in our area for about three days at 90 degrees. The leaves are turning white and look really dry and shrivieled. I'm afraid they are dying.

Did I not water them enough or too much? I watered until water was coming out of the openings at the botton of the pot. I wanted to make sure all the soil was moist. How much should I be watering them in a normally 70 degree high climate.

Should I have planted them in the ground right away? It was just so hot I didn't feel like I could do it.

Should I add fertilizer to them to save them?

Thank you for your help.

The Helpful Gardener
Mod

How did you bring them home? In the back of a truck? Did you cover it? I have seen foliage windburned on the ride home show up just like that a day or two later...don't panic because it is just leaves right? No twig damage?

HG

awqrn
Newly Registered

2 were purchased from Coscto. Another 2 purchase at HD. And yet another 2 from ebay. All bought home via minivan, expect the ebay purchases. It has been windy, and hot. I'm trying to keep them in the shade and keep them well watered. I just want to make sure it's a burn, not a disease. Thanks

The Helpful Gardener
Mod