BirdLover72

BirdLover Needs bird friendly Ideas...

Ya I am a newbie here... Hoping to get some ideas for my backyard area..
I would like to have some native plants for the birds that are colorful and cool though I know nothing about growing or selecting them..Here are some pic of the area I have to work with..Note-pic 1 has a pine tree at the far left side of the picture that will be coming down and that area will become a gazebo...[img]https://img.photobucket.com/albums/1003/CountryLisa/yard/DSCF0005.jpg[/img]
[img]https://img.photobucket.com/albums/1003/CountryLisa/yard/DSCF0007.jpg[/img]

Oh- any ideas for this area would be great also..[img]https://img.photobucket.com/albums/1003/CountryLisa/yard/DSCF0008.jpg[/img]

Thanks,BirdLover72

NEWisc

Welcome to the Helpful Gardener Forums! :D

Good pic's to work with, that really helps. Can you give us a little more info to help zero in on the best choices:

What zone or state?

How much lawn do you want to keep?

In pic 3, which way are we looking - N, S, E, or W? (To figure out how much sun that area gets)

Would you say your soil is dry, average, or moist for most of the year?

NewjerseyTea

BirdLover,
It looks like you have a fun project ahead of you. You have so many possibilities it might seem overwhelming. I have a few more questions to add to the ones NEWisc has already asked. Do you have a feeling for how you would like the yard to look?
Do you want suggestions for trees and shrubs that would screen your view and make your yard more private?
When I look at the first 2 photos I immediately want to plant a hedgerow of mixed shrubs (some evergreen) and small trees along the fenceline and form an interior hidden garden. The birds will love that type of planting because it provides food, (berries, insects ) cover and places to nest. The interior could be planted with herbaceous flowering plants. But that"s what I see, what do you want?

BirdLover72