tth2010
Newly Registered

Did I Make A Huge Mistake?

Hi guys,

I am new to planting bare root trees. I just planted 11 dormant fruit trees last week. I laid down cardboard and put 8" of wood chips in a massive area to make my food forest. I moved all wood chips and dug the holes, careful not to mix the chips and soil. HOWEVER, I did bury the grass clumps on top of the roots with the dirt for backfill. I thought it would be good fertilizer as it decomposed but now I am worried it's going to burn the roots in the process.

It's been about a week since planting. Do I need to dig them all back up and remove the grass clumps?

applestar
Mod

I usually put the grass sod upside down under the trees and shrubs when planting.

I doubt they can burn tree roots, but the way you described it may result in some species of tenacious grass to survive and try to grow up from between the roots.

But you can be diligent to and pull or cut them as they try to grow this season and bury them under mulch where possible, and that should take care of it. Apply some compost under the mulch to increase biological activity.

Hope you soaked them 2-4 hrs before planting preferably in compost tea. Make sure to water deeply — either fill the moat dug around each planted tree twice (fill, allow to soak in, then fill again) or soak surface, allow water to soak in and disappear, then do it twice more until the surface remains wet even after soaking in.

The rule of thumb I follow for new bareroot trees — I can’t give you the source ref atm — is to water deeply once a day for 3 days, twice a week for 2 weeks, then once a week thereafter, unless equivalent of precipitation falls.

Gary350
Super Green Thumb