carolinea
Newly Registered

Pine tree with webs

Hello,

We recently got two pine trees (not sure what kind) from a local nursery (Queens NY) and planted them in pots in our backyard (sadly there is no actual ground available to plant them). One of the trees looks very healthy, but when examining it the other day, I noticed some very fine soft webbing in the branches and on the trunk. I am very new to gardening (and thus very happy to have found this forum), but I'm guessing it's some kind of silkworm? I haven't seen any actual silkworms, or damage to the tree, but I don't want to wait for this to become a problem. I have attached two photos, one is a thick web on the trunk, the other is a looser web in the branches (it's wet because I had just sprayed down the tree).

Anybody know what this may be, or what the best treatment (if any) is needed?
Attachments
IMG_5863.JPG
IMG_5861.JPG

HoneyBerry
Greener Thumb

I don't know what it is but I think it might be a spider. I have some webs like that on my rhody and there is a black spider, so it's probably a nest. Therer are 2 of them on my rhody. They are not causing any damage. Don't know if you have the same spider or not but the first web picture looks very much like mine. One of my webs became stuck to my hand when I was pruning. This particular type of web is very sticky. A spider ran out from the web. I want to be kind so I'm trying to not bother the other web. I have lots of spiders in my shrubs. Their webs provide nest material for hummingbirds. I love the spiders. I'm not giving you advice, because I don't know if you have a harmless spider or if you have something undesirable.

HoneyBerry
Greener Thumb