UseHerName42O
Newly Registered

Nelly R Stevens Holly just planted need help

Hello, I just planted 10 holly on Tuesday the 23rd. They came from Tennessee and there was a note that came with the package that said I should cut them down to the ground because it was coming from a different zone. I e-mailed the company about this to clarify and this is the response I got back. "tops off will come back full" .... so that doesn't clarify anything. Except maybe to do the opposite of actually cutting it down to the ground. What do you think I should do? I'm in zone 7 and the nursery is from Altamont, Tennessee. Should I just prune? Or should I actually cut all the way down to the ground? Please be very specific as I am new to all of this and I want to do it right.

Also I'm worried because we might be getting a freeze on the 27th. I know they are supposed to be able to survive the temps but I'm worried since they were just planted it might be hard for them.

I'm not sure if the next information is helpful but I'm posting it just in case.
Actual
Oct 23 - High 88 Low 54
Oct 24 - High 88 Low 60
Forecasted
Oct 25 - High 72 Low 37
Oct 26 - High 55 Low 30
Oct 27 - High 57 Low 54
Oct 28 - High 64 Low 39

So as you can see it will warm back up but I just want to make sure this one *possible* freeze isn't going to harm them.

applestar
Mod

I can't really answer your question because I haven't tried purchasing a large evergreen online/mail order. -- how big were they?

Anyway, this variety holly is listed as hardy to zone 6 so you should be OK as far as that goes. I would mulch heavily to protect it from freeze-thaw cycle ground heaving and to protect the still shallow roots, but that would be just before freezing temps arrive.

Now, what I'm going to say after this are just general thoughts and not necessarily applicable, OK?