Daniel_Decker
Newly Registered

Bur Oak Planting Problems (Too much water?)

Hi, this is my first time posting here, so keep in mind I'm a noob.

Last Saturday (5/5/12) I planted a 5" caliper, 18-20' tall Bur Oak in my back yard. It was B&B and had been out of the ground for close to a month. The root ball was 50" across and 3' deep, tapered.

It has been just over a week since I planted the tree, and now I am worried that something is wrong. The leaves are all turning brown and shriveling. We have had a crazy amount of rain since I planted it, not to mention I watered it like crazy the day that I planted it. Would this be as a result of too much water?

This is my first time planting a tree, so I really have no clue. I definitely don't want it to die, so please help.

I have posted pictures here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/20807577@N07/sets/72157629707692920/

!potatoes!
Greener Thumb

what kind of soil are you in? if your hole is near the size of the rootball and not-very-drainy clayey soil, it could easily be too wet in there.

Daniel_Decker
Newly Registered

I made the hole a foot wider than the rootball on all sides. It is a foot deeper, and the radius was a foot wider all around.

After digging about a foot and a half down we hit red clay.

So you think it is too wet? Is that what would be causing my leaves to do what they are doing? If so, once it dries out a little all will be good right? Is there anything I need to do or not do? How often should I water and how much?

Thanks.

WildcatNurseryman