Timilisa
Newly Registered

Hi! First posting, peaked Sago Palm, help reviving?

Hello! This is my first posting on this forum. I hope to meet a lot of fellow gardeners here. I have been gardening for about 30 years. I am always trying new plant varieties, always pushing the recomended zones when it comes to growning, always looking to learn something new! I know a little bit about everything having to do with gardening. -Just enough to get into trouble. I have been trying some "new" (to me) tropicals in my Northern California garden. Wouldn't you know, we had record-breaking low temperatures this winter - down to 21F, which is cold for us, and I have 3 plants in particular looking rather sad. 1st is a Sago Palm. It made it through covered without croaking, but it's fronds are yellowish. Can anyone recommend a good fertilizer to correct this? Is it simply a case of iron or? Should I cut the yellow-ie fronds off? Next are 2 different Michelias a Figo, and an Alba. The Figo (I think the common name is banana shrub?) Is doing great, lots of new leaf and flower buds, I just don't know what to feed it. Something that I would feed Rhodies? or just a good ol' 10-10-10? Last is the Alba. It lost all it's leaves, and many of the branches died back about half way to the trunk. However, it is budding on the braches that are left and I think it'll come back. Because of my zone, I've put it in a 20 gallon pot, and will bring it inside from now on. But I really want to help it and give it a boost to really leaf out again. What should I feed it? Thanks so much for the help!!!!!!! :D

Newt
Greener Thumb

Hi Timilisa,

Welcome to The Helpful Gardener.
1st is a Sago Palm. It made it through covered without croaking, but it's fronds are yellowish. Can anyone recommend a good fertilizer to correct this? Is it simply a case of iron or? Should I cut the yellow-ie fronds off?