gardendoll
Newly Registered

ground which has had leylandii in it recently

hello all, I wonder if anyone can answer this...

recently I removed six very tall leylandi from my garden and I am planning to plant a japanese maple and a silk tree in the part of the garden where the leylandi used to be. I plan to do this next spring. do you think the earth there will be nutritious enough though? I am very new to gardening so I would very much appreciate the advice of someone more experienced. I have read that some species of tree are actually used to improve the quality of the ground but the leylandi were not in this list.

thanks

bullthistle
Greener Thumb

Generally speaking most woody plants remove what nutrients are in the soil unless they were fertilized annually, including compost and manure. When planting new plants anytime existing soil should be amended with either compost or manure when backfilled along with a handful of bonemeal, no fertilizer until the second year. when you backfill tamp the soil down with the end of your shovel to remove any air pockets, the heal of your shoe will not do that and then water when newly planted and do it twice a week at leats for the first year and if planted in a windy location three times a week.

gardendoll
Newly Registered

thanks bullthistle, I have laid weed membrane and gravel over the area at the moment and my plan was to cut into it when the time comes and plant the trees in. so is it ok to apply the compost into this hole I cut along with the new tree? or do I need to treat it for a period of time before I plant the tree? my questions might seem silly but I am total novice at gardening! what size are would I have to apply this fertilizer to? a few feet around the tree I plant (or more? or less?)

bullthistle
Greener Thumb