cg0617
Newly Registered

Royal Empress Tree & Katherine Havemeyer Lilac Tree

I am a beginner :) I've only done minor vegetable gardening. I have been studying flowering trees as I really want to plant one of each of these trees this season. I live in Milwaukee, WI Zone 5. I am wondering if it is a good idea to order trees online? I've never planted a tree and I don't know much. The Royal Empress is suppossed to grow rapidly and give lots of shade. The lilac tree looks beautiful! Does anyone have any positive or negative feedback on mail ordering trees? Do you have a site that you like? Dislike? ANY feedback would be much appreciated. I've been too shy to post :/

Kisal
Mod Emeritus

The Royal Empress tree, also known as the Princess tree and Paulownia, is considered to be very invasive. There is some detailed information at this site:

https://www.nps.gov/plants/alien/fact/pato1.htm

I don't know anything about the other tree you mentioned.

Although I buy many things online, I prefer to buy plants at local nurseries. That way, I'm able to check the health of the plants, including for evidence of pests and diseases, which if present, might infect other plants I own. I can also ask about a plant's preferred growing conditions and learn how to care for it.

It's important to realize, also, that because of the expense of packaging and shipping, plants bought online or from catalogs are going to be very small and young. I remember one time when I gave in to the lure of some lilac shrubs in a catalog. They arrived in 2" pots, and none of the shrubs was taller than 4". Every one of them died within a couple of months.