Ariamezzo
Newly Registered

Question about propagating through stem cuttings

I recently received some rubber tree cuttings in a large glass of water and was told to keep them submerged for a few weeks until they develop roots. I've never used the water method before so I'm not sure what the developing roots look like, which is what my question is about.

It's been about a week now and I noticed at each of the submerged nodes (areas where branches used to be) there seems to be very fine white hairs or fuzz growing. Is this a type of fungus or is this related to root development?

Kisal
Mod Emeritus

I think it's better to root cuttings in soil, or in something like perlite or sand, rather than water. But that's JMO. ;)

You can root starts from a rubber tree in water, but it's really impossible for us to tell whether your cuttings are rooting successfully or not. It's been some years since I propagated a rubber tree, but as I recall the roots start as little bumps on the stem. I air-layered my rubber tree, rather than rooting a cutting.

About the best I could suggest would be to remove your cutting from the water and see if the end of the stem feels soft and mushy. If it does, then it's rotting.

Sorry I can't be of more help. :(

BewilderedGreenyO.o
Green Thumb

Having some experience in successful water rooting I can give you some ideas/tips.

when I first started out rooting things in water I had no clue what I was doing. I lost a few plants and researched why. Many websites or people will tell you to just stick a cutting in water and leave it there and it will root just fine. In some cases this is true but not all cases. So here is what I've figured works the best for me.

1. find a cutting.
2. fill a clear container with water so that no leaves submerge into the water.
3. Put cutting into the water and place somewhere with light but not direct sun.