cannon
Newly Registered

First time planting trees/shrubs in new bed-NEED HELP!!!

Any help will be appreciated! I have a lot of plants coming at the end of the week and would like some information on what to add when planting them. They will be put in a dense clay (grass grew very well here) and an area with very poor dirt. Is there something I can add after digging to help them survive and give nutrients? I am very nervous that I spent this much money and everything will die.

This is my first time planting anything so it will be a learning process!

Thank you for your help!

MaineDesigner
Green Thumb

The current wisdom on planting most trees and shrubs is to just reuse the existing soil and not to add anything at planting. The arguments for not amending the soil, especially in clay, are that you can create a perched water table effectively drowning the plant and that it makes it more difficult for the roots to expand beyond the initial planting hole.

I'm not clear on what you mean by "poor dirt", poor in what regard? Is it extremely sandy?

It is extremely important that you not plant too deep, especially in the heavy clay. The linked site is focused on balled and burlaped (aka B&B in the trade) trees but the basic advice is also true for container woody plants:
[url]https://www.umassgreeninfo.org/fact_sheets/plant_culture/trees_shrubs.html[/url]

Another issue that I see more often than not is spacing woody plants too closely both with respect to buildings and other woody plants. If you would provide a list of what you are planting you can probably get some good advice on spacing and which plants tolerate clay well.

bullthistle
Greener Thumb