C00KiE46

Does my tree have a disease?

Last week we decided to prune our tree cause we noticed dry branches on the tip of them. The center of the branch was soft (you were able to remove the insides if you wanted to). Here's a pic on how it looked.[img]https://i203.photobucket.com/albums/aa241/M0MMiE_album/IMG_3521.jpg[/img]
Should we just saw off the whole branch to the trunk?
[img]https://i203.photobucket.com/albums/aa241/M0MMiE_album/IMG_3522.jpg[/img]
A week after we cut it it looks like this
[img]https://i203.photobucket.com/albums/aa241/M0MMiE_album/IMG_3524.jpg[/img]
Another branch looks like this
[img]https://i203.photobucket.com/albums/aa241/M0MMiE_album/IMG_3523.jpg[/img]
Does this tree have a disease? Can we save it? This tree is really pretty when it blooms. TIA!

cynthia_h
Super Green Thumb

I have very little experience with trees, but unfortunately I *have* seen this pattern on one of mine in a large container.

I've been babying my cherry tree along for five or so years now, after the borers found it. The cherry bark looks like yours, and the tiny holes are exactly like yours. :(

Sorry I can't give you a link at the moment; I just got home and need to get to a client document. Maybe an Internet search on "borers" and "trees"? Or others here, with more tree experience, will know right off the bat exactly which species is attacking your tree.

Cynthia H.
Sunset Zone 17, USDA Zone 9

Pineville

That is quite a bit of decay showing, with just a bit of cambium left around the outside to sustain the tree. The last picture showing the trunk of the tree indicates severe damage to the trunk. It appears to be healing/callusing at the bark, but it also looks like decay going right into the trunk. The callusing area will eventually close up the wound, but the damage to the tree could be permanent, and ultimately kill the tree. You could easily have a few years left with that tree- but it will probably decline with each passing year.

C00KiE46