brownbrown
Newly Registered

advice for what type of hedge is good for living fence in MN

I was interested in making a privacy fence for my house out of hedges or bushes in Minnesota and as a novice I don't really know where to start. If anybody has any suggestions - I would like it to be less than 6 feet tall, hopefully not something that needs tons of attention in pruning, and something that can withstand a harsh winter.

thanks

Kisal
Mod Emeritus

Welcome to the forum! :)

What is the light like where your hedge will be? Is it all full sun, or is some of it part or full shade? That will make a big difference in the types of plants that will work for your project.

brownbrown
Newly Registered

partially shady, here's a rough diagram, this is inverted so south on top and north on bottom, east to the left, west to the right:

neighbor
house------------- my house
[ ] ----------------- [ ]
x-------------------- x
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx<-----hedges along the front yard connecting houses

it's around 35 feet between the houses, and 10 feet in front of the house (north) just before the sidewalk, so the sun will be behind the house, low in the winter months, but more direct in the summer

thanks

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Does it have to be evergreen? When I think privacy hedge, I think evergreen, but there might be other options.

For evergreens in your size range is the American yew (aka Canada yew), Japanese yew, some junipers, mugo pine, globe arborvitae, false cypress.