kluck5
Newly Registered

Autumn Blaze Maple Shriveled & Brown - Is it Dying?

This Mother's Day my husband bought me an Autumn Blaze Maple. We planted it in our front yard and seems to have been doing well, until last week. The leaves along the bottom shriveled up, turned brown and died off. This is continuing all the way up to the top. I'm no tree expert but the bark seems to be healthy. Is my tree dying? If so, why? Can I do anything to save it? Please, please somebody help me. I absolutely love this tree as it has sentimental value more than anything.

wingdesigner
Super Green Thumb

Hi, kluck5! Welcome from Michigan! It sounds like you have a Japanese Maple? Or if it's a regular maple? then you'll probably get a better response to your questions on either the tree section or Japanese garden section.

TheLorax
Greener Thumb

The 'Autumn Blaze' is a hybrid of acer saccharinum and A. rubrum. Sounds to me as if it's over for your tree based on your description. Maples are susceptible to a multitude of fungal infections. I get the strange premonition this was brewing before you received it as a gift and the stress of transplant accelerated the process.

Without sending a sample to a lab, thoughts right now are that your tree had Verticillium wilt. This would be about the right time of year for a tree with Verticillium wilt to do exactly as you described. This pathogen transfers to the tree via the roots so if you are going to purchase a replacement tree for that spot, don't select one that is susceptible to Verticillium wilt and don't purchase your replacement tree from the same nursery you bought this one from. Some nurseries propagate from seed then grow them out in specific areas, re-use pots, or heal plants in over winter in the same area year after year- not good when dealing with fungal infections. Also, do not chip out this tree when it is removed to use it as mulch around other trees. Just burn it.