kellerwynn7
Newly Registered

Need General Help & Advice

This is my first year trying a garden. Apparently, I am a failure. My zucchini were doing wonderful. But just recently a lot of the leaves have been turning yellow and then completely brown and the plants have essentially stopped producing.

I should mention I live in San Diego County, it has been 90+ since the first part of June, and we get no rain here in the summer/fall months. My garden is in three self-contained raised beds approximately 8 x 2 x 2. I only used Miracl-Gro Gardening Soil to fill the beds and then started worrying it was too rich and mixed in some soil from our yard.

Anyway, the tomato plants started getting leaf roll, then the bottom small branches/leaves have turned brown, now the whole plants are looking wilted and very thin. There are 3 small green tomatos on one plant and the other has never even gotten one tomato. The plant with the 3 I believe is in the beginning stages of completely dying.

All the cumcumber plants in the bed with the tomatoes have died. My 2 remaining green bean plants that were about 10 inches high died overnight in the last 10 days. The cumcumbr plants that I had thinned from the original site and replanted in the place of my ded peas were doing beautifully -- even have 1 cumcumber -- but in just the last 10 days have started getting yellow spots and looking like they need more water. The zucchini that was also transplanted into the area where the peas died (from heat I think) is the only plant still doing well in my garden.

Now I see that my fuji apple tree is getting leaf roll and the small green apples are getting brown speckles on them.