fabulousmindy

calcium-blossom end rot?

I have one plant so far with blossom end rot. I was so upset to see my first ripe tomatoe was inedible!!!

I read you can apply calcium to fix the soil. I have been growing tomatoes for several years in the same area (suburban gradener). Last year we added manure and this year a "topsoil plus".

The plant with the problem is close to asparagus and zuchinni if that matters.

TZ -OH6
Super Green Thumb

The way you make a tomato get blossom end rot in the lab is to deprive it of calcium, but this is not really how it works in nature because calcium is rarely that low in dirt. For some reason, in the late spring when growth is fast, nitrogen is high in the soil, and soil moisture starts to dry up/fluctuate, calcium is distributed unevenly within the tiny fruit (it gets into the plant from the soil no problem). BER results. Plants generally out grow BER so that by the time you see it on large developing fruits the new fruits are healthy. Calcium sprays only work (somewhat) on very small green fruits, because after a certain age the skin of the fruit becomes impervious to the spray and the calcium can't get in. Some varieties are more susceptible than others, pastes like Roma are especially notable.

If your soil pH is fine and plants grow well calcium is probably not the problem in the soil. Try to keep the soil moisture even either by watering or by addition of organic matter, and stay away from varieties that give you problems.

Calcium is a problem in container plants/ potting mix, either because it is lacking or because of ph fluctuations, so make sure your potting mix has lime in it, or add some. Dolomitic lime/dolomite has magnesium as well as calcium so many prefer to add that instead of lime/limstone.

webgrunt

I have used calcium citrate with immediate success. It won't heal the ones which have blossom end rot, but it will prevent any new ones from getting it.

Anonymous