Sawbones
Newly Registered

Disaster

Newbie here. First a little history of my dilemma. 3 years ago I had a thriving heirloom tomato crop. 2 years ago a friend dumped mushroom compost that was mixed wrong at the mushroom farm. Killed all my tomato plants; nothing would grow in that plot including weeds. Soil testing results revealed ALL nutrients were off-the-chart excess quantities so NOTHING would grow in the garden not even weeds. Garden abandoned for 2 years. 3 weeks ago I had the top 6 inches soil scraped off and replaced w/ sandy loam from out in the pasture; tilled the loam w/the soil underneath. I planted 14 heirloom tomatoes just 4 days ago. (in preparation to planting I laid the plants on their side in the dirt) Today, 4 days later, I've got early blight on all plants. Seems the new dirt is contaminated w/ fungi.
Question: Is there a way to rid the garden of the killer fungi? How to sterilize the soil?

Thanks in advance

applestar
Mod

Could you give us the actual numbers in the soil test results? Honestly I wouldn’t be able to interprets them but there are members here who are fluent and knowledgeable.

My personal instinctive and intuitive proposal would be to take this year off solanacea and try to grow other, hungry crops like corn and/or winter squash to try to deplete some of the excess…. since I don’t know what “too much that nothing would grow” means (… I’m curious if you also tested for herbicides and other chemicals)

Maybe interplant with other crops that are known to help with soil biology like marigolds, garlic, and onions during the warm months and then mustards and radish at the end of the summer through fall (and winter if you live in milder winter area).

…alternatively, another idea I would explore would be to put duu in on a heavy layer of freshly chipped wood and inoculate with appropriate strain of mushrooms for the location ( wood chip substrate, sunny area, etc. )

Sawbones
Newly Registered