rkennedy1945
Newly Registered

Soil PH

I have been growing tomatoes and peppers in 22” and 18” ID for several years. I have been trying to lower the PH with plants about 18” high. Current PH is 7.5. I understand tomatoes and peppers like PH around 6.5. I have added peat, ammonium sulfate, 30% sulfur and now 4 tank spoons of vinger and I can honestly say very little change. Maybe down to 7.2. I was adding 1/4 cup of sulfur. How much and how long should I expect it to take to get the ph in the 6.5 range? Thanks

imafan26
Mod

What is the base of your soil? If your soil has a lot of compost or calcium then it is harder to lower the pH. Peat moss that is not limed has a pH of about 3. Peat that is limed will have a pH or about 6.0 Add sulfur for acidifying soil takes about 2 lbs or about 2 3/4 cup - 4 cups of elemental sulfur per plant to reduce the pH by 1 pt. It takes about 6 months to do this because ultimately it is the soil biota that you are changing they are the ones that will actually make the soil pH more acidic.

If you are growing in pots just grow in Peat moss and perlite 50/50 mix with an acidic fertilizer like tomato or citrus food which contains sulfur. The peat moss will have a pH of around 6.0. The perlite is fairly neutral. For an 18 gallon pot, approx 20 inch pot, You will need about 2 cups of citrus food, mine is 6-4-6 with slow nitrogen, or about the same of tomato food which is 9-12-12. Mix it into the soil as a starter fertilizer. If you use higher number fertilizer you will have to decrease the amount. After the tomatoes flower give an additional 1 tablespoon of fertilizer per month until the tomatoes die. If you want to put organic in the pot, the only thing that has not harmed the plants for me is a couple of handfuls of vermicast. Compost holds too much water and is too alkaline although it does buffer the pH. Manures will just kill the plants if they grow at all.